This topic only applies to 10.2.1 and later versions.
Administrators can remove individual members from the portal using the portal website or remove them in bulk using a command line utility. Member accounts that exist in the portal's built-in identity store or accounts that have been registered with the portal from your organization's enterprise identity store can be removed. To learn more about how members are managed in the portal, see Managing access to your portal.
If you are using the portal's built-in store to manage members, the member's account is permanently deleted. The account cannot be recovered. If you are using your organization's enterprise identity store to manage members, the account is not deleted from your identity store; it is unregistered from the portal and will not appear in the portal website. If necessary, you can recover the account by adding it back to the portal.
If you want to quickly assess what users in your organization are members of the portal, you can use a command line utility called ListUsers to generate a text file that lists all the members in the portal. You can use this utility to assess what users in your organization can be removed from the portal. The output text file can also be used as input to the DeleteUsers command line utility described below. For full instructions, see Listing members.
You cannot remove a member if the member owns content or groups. You must change ownership of the items to a different member before removing the member. You can do this individually for each member or in bulk using a command line utility. For more information, see Managing items.
For full instructions on how to remove members from your portal, see the steps in the sections below.
Removing members using the portal website
Removing members using the portal website is appropriate if you need to quickly delete an individual that no longer needs access to the portal. You cannot remove members in bulk using the portal website.
- Log in to the portal website as an administrator and click the My organization link on the top menu. Your organization page opens.
- Click the Delete User button in the row of the member you want to remove and click the Delete User button in the pop-up window to confirm you want to remove the user.
The member's account is removed from the portal website.
Removing members in bulk using the command line utility
Removing members using the command line utility is appropriate if you need to remove a large number of members at once from your portal. You may do this periodically to keep the total membership count under control. You may also do this if you have recently upgraded your portal and must reduce the number of named users to the maximum allowed by your authorization file. For more information about this scenario, see Enforcement of named user licensing.
You'll use the DeleteUsers command line utility that was installed with the software to remove members from the portal in bulk. The tool is located in the <Portal for ArcGIS installation location>\tools\accountmanagement directory. The tool takes a text file as input and must be run on the machine where the portal is installed.
The utility can only be executed by a built-in administrator account; you cannot use an enterprise administrator account. The built-in account you use can be the initial administrator account you set up when you configured the portal or another built-in account that has been granted administrator privileges. If you have deleted the initial administrator account and do not have any other built-in administrator accounts available, you will need to create one to execute the utility. For instructions, see the Built-in portal accounts section of Adding members to your portal.
- Create a text file that contains the user names of members you want to delete from your portal. List each member's user name on a separate line, for example:
sarah robert james qingNote:
You must specify the user name of the member. Do not use the full name of the member; the tool will ignore all entries that use the full name of the member. Also note that the user names you type in the text file must be in the same case as they are stored in the portal. You can run the ListUsers command line utility or check the My Organization page of your portal website to see in what case the user names are stored.
- Save the text file.
- Run the DeleteUsers command line tool by specifying your text file as the tool's input, for example, DeleteUsers --file c:\scripts\memberstodelete.txt.Tip:
Be sure to use the correct case for command line options and file names.