Disconnecting users from geodatabases on a database server

The server administrator (dbo) can disconnect users from a geodatabase. To do so, the server administrator must open the Connected Users tab of the Geodatabase Administration dialog box, which is accessed from the context menu of a database connection. Therefore, the server administrator must save a connection to the individual geodatabase to access this menu.

When your database server is licensed through ArcGIS for Desktop or ArcGIS Engine, the number of connections that can be made to the database server is limited. If a user leaves a connection open and idle for a long period of time, you might need to drop that user's connection so another user can connect and work.


It is not recommended that you disconnect active connections. This is especially true if the connected user is in the process of editing.

To remove a connection from a geodatabase that is on a database server, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the machine where ArcGIS for Desktop is installed as a user who is a server administrator on the database server.
  2. Connect to the database server in the Catalog tree.
  3. Right-click the geodatabase from which you want to disconnect users and click Save Connection.

    A connection to the geodatabase is created under the Database Connections node.

  4. Expand the Database Connections node, right-click the new connection, point to Administer, then click Administer Geodatabase.
  5. Click the Connections tab.

    The user sessions that are currently connected to the geodatabase are listed. Your own connection appears in italics. Be aware that these are connected sessions; the same user can be connected from multiple clients and, therefore, can appear multiple times in the connected users list.

  6. Choose the user connection (or connections) you want to remove.
  7. Right-click the connections and click Disconnect.

    An error message is returned if you do not have the privileges required to disconnect users. An error message is also returned if you attempt to remove your own connection.

The user session is dropped and all locks that session held are also dropped. When the user attempts to use the session, an error message is returned indicating that the server is inaccessible or that there is a network I/O problem.