About using OGC service layers

You can use many Open Geospatial Consortium, Inc. (OGC), services that are available on the web using ArcGIS for Desktop—for example, you can use WMS, WMTS, WFS, and WCS services as map layers. In addition, you can use ArcGIS for Desktop to publish web services using a variety of OGC protocols.

Major OGC interfaces supported by ArcGIS

Service type


OGC Web Map Service (WMS)

A Web Map Service delivers georeferenced map images. A WMS service may also contain a Styled Layer Descriptor (SLD) to specify how the WMS layer is to be symbolized and portrayed.

OGC Web Map Tile Service (WMTS)

A Web Map Tile Service delivers pregenerated georeferenced map images. A WMTS service may contain one or more styles, dimensions, or tiling schemes to specify how the WMTS layer is to be displayed.

OGC Web Coverage Service (WCS)

A Web Coverage Service delivers raster data and cell values, such as elevation values from a digital elevation model (DEM) or pixel values from a multiband image.

OGC Web Feature Service (WFS)

A Web Feature Service serves, queries, and updates feature geometry and attributes using a Geography Markup Language (GML) profile.

OGC interfaces supported by ArcGIS

For more information regarding OGC support in ArcGIS, see the following:

OGC support in ArcGIS ServerOverview of OGC and ISO/TC 211 support

Related Topics