Mode

Description

ArcGIS Server has a site mode that allows you to control changes to your site. You can set the site mode to READ_ONLY to disallow the publishing of new services and block most administrative operations. Your existing services will continue to function as they did previously. Note that certain administrative operations such as adding and removing machines from a site are still available in READ_ONLY mode.

The default site mode is EDITABLE, which means all administrative and publishing operations are allowed on the site. By default, all services will be restarted when the site mode is set to READ_ONLY.

Additionally, setting the site mode to READ_ONLY will copy the site configuration files to a local repository on each machine in the site. This default behaviour will enable the site to operate in a degraded capacity when there are connection failures to the configuration store.

NoteNote:

The default options when enabling READ_ONLY mode can be changed by configuring them in the serverProperties resource. You can choose not to copy configurations locally and not to restart services. See the serverProperties resource for the required format for changing these options.

Request parameters

Parameter

Details

f

Description : The response format. The default response format is html.

Values: html | json

Response properties

Property

Details

siteMode

The current mode of the site. Response can be READ_ONLY or EDITABLE.

copyConfigLocal

Whether the site configuration files will be copied to the local repository upon switching to READ_ONLY. Response can be true or false.

lastModified

Time stamp indicating the last time the site mode was modified.

Example usage

http://server:6080/arcgis/admin/mode

JSON Response Example

{"siteMode": "READ_ONLY", 
"copyConfigLocal": true, 
"lastModified":
<timestamp> }

10/6/2017